COVID-19 in Greece

COVID-19 in Greece

[Travel update: March 27th, 2021]

Greece is once more taking the necessary steps to protect all of its citizens and visitors. This means that a new lockdown is currently in effect across Greece - in order to curb the rising rates of Covid-19.

Citizens in need of going out for essential reasons will have to notify it and to provide specific certificates (type A and type B) according to the reasons for their movement. For additional information and for the necessary certificates, please visit (in Greek).

Furthermore, as of 13.11.2020, from 21:00 to 05:00, a curfew is in place, together with a ban on travelling outside home prefectures. Consequently, only essential movement is allowed (work, health, pet care).

As of November 11, 2020, all people travelling to Greece from foreign countries will be required to have a negative molecular test result (PCR) for COVID-19, performed up to 72 hours before their entry to Greece. This includes air and land arrivals to Greece.

Further, people travelling to Greece should be aware that as of November 6, 2020, Greece is in lockdown. More information about eligible ways and means of transport and movement permits within Greece is available on

This does also apply to Greek citizens, permanent residents of Greece and travellers for essential professional reasons.

Travellers should be laboratory tested with RT-PCR of oropharyngeal or nasopharyngeal swab.

Only travellers who carry a certificate of a negative RT-PCR test result will be allowed by the border authorities to enter the country. The certificates should be written in English and bear the name and passport/national ID number of the traveller.

The Laboratories that perform the RT-PCR testing should be:

  1. National Reference laboratories
  2. National Public Health Laboratories or
  3. Private laboratories are accredited by the respective national accreditation authorities (not necessarily specifically for COVID-19).

Certificates that do not fulfil the above criteria will not be accepted. Certificate forgery is punished by Greek Law.

Children under 10 years old are not subject to the obligation to a PCR test.

All travellers will still have to complete and submit their PLF form and may be subject to random testing upon arrival to the Greek border.

As of November 10, 2020, permanent residents of Greece who travel by land or air to foreign countries are required to fill in the electronic form PLF (Passenger Locator Form) with their contact details in Greece before their departure from the country and to show at the border checkpoint the proof of completion of the electronic PLF form that is automatically sent by e-mail to each traveller electronically.

Please also be aware that ALL travellers entering Greece will be required to self-isolate (at their home or temporary residence, for example, hotel) for seven (7) days upon their arrival. If they remain in Greece for a shorter period, they have to self-isolate until their departure.

Residents from EU+ countries are allowed to travel to Greece. EU+ consists of the European Union, the United Kingdom, Switzerland, Norway, Lichtenstein and Iceland.

Residents of Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Singapore, Russia, China*, UAE* are also allowed to travel to Greece.

*subject to confirmation of reciprocity.

Permanent residents of other countries are allowed to travel to Greece only for essential travel.

Land boarders

Due to the epidemiological situation in the Balkans and Turkey, all the external land Greek borders are open only to essential travellers. Land border arrivals from Bulgaria are allowed through Promachonas border station. Before entering the country, all travellers must complete their Passenger Locator Form.

Greek citizens, permanent residents of Greece, transport workers and travellers for essential professional reasons can enter from the borders of Kakavia, Krystallopigi, Evzoni, Nymfeas, Kipi (daily open only between 07:00 and 11:00). All travellers should have the PLF and QR code and additionally hold a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken no more than 72h before their arrival.
Those entering from Kakavia and Krystallopigi Border Inspection Posts should additionally self-isolate for 7 days upon their arrival in Greece. There is a daily limit of 750 entries per day in Kakavia and 300 entries per day in Krystallopigi.

In the case of Greece-Albania borders, this also applies to Albanians citizens of Greek origin (Homogeny).

Employees of international land transport services, regardless of their nationality, must either transit or head to their destination and then undergo 7-day isolation. There is an exception for members of international or European organizations, regardless of nationality, who may enter in order to work in Greece or transit through Greece, provided that they prove their function with appropriate documentation.

In the case of Greece-North Macedonia borders, there is an additional exception for EULEX staff and their family members that are allowed to enter for medical reasons in the Greek territory (Evzoni Border Inspection Posts).

Testing will be performed by a ladder of the Civil Protection Team. For more info regarding the testing, you must contact only the National Public Health Organization and the Civil Protection of Greece.


This is the four-digit number of the Ministry of Tourism for any issue arising during the pandemic crisis.
The line is operating from Monday - Friday 08:00 -16:00.

follow us

join us in social media