Mount Athos

Mount Athos

Mount Athos -commonly known as the Holy Mountain- is the spiritual capital of the Orthodox Christian world, consisting of 20 monasteries, 12 skites, and about 700 houses, cells or hermitages and approximately 2,000 monks.

The “Garden of Virgin Mary” is the paradise of the eastern peninsula of Halkidiki!

The Monastic State of the Holy Mountain is known to be the main carrier of Orthodox Christianity and holds spiritual glory and great history. It is a religious community with 1.000 years old monasteries, cells in caves or between the rocks, towers, domes, belfries, chants, etc. It is listed in UNESCO’s WORLD HERITAGE MONUMENTS.

For more information follow the link: Mount Athos

Worth it to see:

  • Take a boat cruise around Mount Athos, it's a unique experience! Even though women are not allowed inside Mount Athos, all visitors (men and women) can admire the magnificent monasteries by cruising along the west coast of Athos peninsula. Daily Boat Cruises, depart from Ouranoupoli (East Coast) and Ormos Panagias (Sithonia).

Don’t miss it!

Watch out for the dolphins while taking a boat cruise around Mount Athos!


select and discover

follow us

join us in social media