Location: From Thessaloniki → 108km-From Polygyros → 52km
The village of Stagira is built on the foot of mountain Stratoniko (Strebenikos) at an altitude of 500m., on the main road of Thessaloniki-Ouranoupoli, and has approximately 500 residents.
Its older name was Kazantzi Machala and it belonged to Mademochoria. Residents worked in the mines during the Byzantine era and the Ottoman rule.
The park of Aristotle is in the entrance of the village and the hill of St. Dimitrios is on the left, with the complex of Sidirokafsia built in the early Ottoman rule. Sidirokafsia was the headquarters of the mine and an important administrative center of the area, with its own mint. There are also other interesting monuments, such as the towers, the public baths and the house of Madem Agas from the era of Sidirokafsia.
Worth it to see:
- The fortress complex, where there are only three partly ruined towers as well as the ruins of the public bath that Ishak Pasha constructed in the 15th century.
- The central temple dedicated to the “Birthday of the Virgin Mary”, built in 1814. Also interesting is the small chapel dedicated to the “Virgin Mary the Spilotissa” built in rock.
✓ Don’t miss it!
The unique Aristotle’s park which located in an outstanding area within a view towards the Gulf of Ierissos and the peninsula of Athos. The theme park is dedicated to the famous philosopher and his work called “The Natural”.